Aesop and Upnext

When I thought of my two (mouse and lion) poems, I thought of Aesop’s “The Lion and The Mouse” Fables. So I thought I post it here and I know you could google it. However, I thought I make it a little simple for you.

I have a strong connection to ancient culture and of any stories that have made it over a great amount of time. I love the fact that many of these stories started out as storytelling. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy reading and writing but  I think we are missing out on great storytellers (or how wonderful the few we have). Storytelling is a work of art that takes the right place, time, mood, and tone. Stories that are said have a lasting impression on my memory. Including ones from special family, friends and the odd stranger you bumped into.

Okay, back to reality and before I ramble on too much. Next week, I will post an original poem. I haven’t decided which one yet, I will update you within the middle of the week about that. But I hope everyone had a great last week and you’ll hear from me soon.

The Lion and the Mouse by Aesop*

Once when a Lion was asleep a little Mouse began running up and down upon him; this soon wakened the Lion, who placed his huge paw upon him, and opened his big jaws to swallow him. “Pardon, O King,” cried the little Mouse: “forgive me this time, I shall never forget it: who knows but what I may be able to do you a turn some of these days?” The Lion was so tickled at the idea of the Mouse being able to help him, that he lifted up his paw and let him go. Some time after the Lion was caught in a trap, and the hunters who desired to carry him alive to the King, tied him to a tree while they went in search of a waggon to carry him on. Just then the little Mouse happened to pass by, and seeing the sad plight in which the Lion was, went up to him and soon gnawed away the ropes that bound the King of the Beasts. “Was I not right?” said the little Mouse.

Little friends may prove great friends.

*From my understanding, All of Aesop work are in the public domain and therefore be shared without permission. No copyright infringement intended.

Leave a Reply

